And without further ado… introducing, The Love of My Life! (A story about a fabric pattern.)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 13:44:17

    It’s funny reading your blog entry…because my path was so similar. LOOOVE Kirby Lapis!
    I bought a chair from a local (Utah) dealer with the design “love of my life,” and only recently did I find that the fabric was called “Kirby Lapis” through Googling. I just ordered some yardage to make pillows for my sofa. Can I have too much Kirby Lapis in my life? I think not!

    • Karina
      Mar 02, 2011 @ 18:24:03

      Hi Cat, that’s so funny… I had no idea someone else out there could love Kirby Lapis as much as I do! That chair is simply gorgeous. And I totally understand (and can relate to!) the process from finding, loving, to buying an upholstered chair in that fabric. Unfortunately, I wasn’t lucky enough to buy my dream Kirby Lapis chair… I had to settle for one in a similar fabric. So I’m definitely jealous!

      And you have to tell me where you’ve been ordering Kirby Lapis fabric for your pillows. Do they have other similar fabrics available? I’d love to make my own pillows, too.

      Thanks again for commenting on my blog. 🙂
      Cheers,
      Karina

  2. Cat
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 13:48:17

  3. Kathy McMahon
    Mar 04, 2011 @ 14:20:06

    I’m a Kirby Lapis groupie too! I was searching for a futon cover, and after looking at several hundred on-line, I kept going back to Kirby Lapis. I’m in love with it, and find myself googling it constantly. I received the futon cover, and found that I love it even more in person. I’m thinking of buying more decor in this pattern, but for now, I’m happy just looking at my futon!

  4. Cat
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 12:36:38

    I found the fabric at a steal of a price, 17.95/yard at House of Fabric http://www.housefabric.com
    They do have the related fabrics available, including the Amari variety.
    http://housefabric.com/ProductDetail.asp?ProductID=35741

    Happy sewing!

  5. Val
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 12:59:29

    Dear Karina
    If it’s not an inconvenience, would some one please confirm the name of the manufacturer of the Kirby Lapis floral fabric?
    This fabric has a lovely fresh look and just what I’m looking to cover chairs.
    I am trying to find a distributor here in the UK, but so far, only found American web shops.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Kind Regards
    Val